THE MUSIC BROADCASTING SOCIETY OF SA INC

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 28 November 2022

Public Schools Club, 207 East Terrace, Adelaide

Present: Frank Seeley AM (Chairperson), Phillip Virgo (Deputy Chairperson), Colin Scarlett (Treasurer), Emily Sutherland (Minute Secretary), Peter Davis (Director), Meg Alexander (Director), Stephen Davis (Director), Meg Abbott, David Anthony, Jill Best, Peter Bleby, Roy Cooke, Bill Cowley, Tony Cox, Jan Davis, Barbara Doran, Tom Doran, Andrew Gardiner, Rosemary Gardiner, Andrew Hanna, Barry Horwood, Kate Hunter, Christine James, Dennis Johnson, Gurney Khera, Bill Lawson, Andrew Manglaras, Mary O'Connor, Margaret Ogier, Tony Ogier, Mary Peterson, Fay Petre, Rhonda Phillips, Glen Quick, Anthea Reeves, Ian Sando, Greg Schultz, Yvonne Schwerdt, Kari Seeley, Tim Seeley, Robert Sexton, Jan Tanner, Brenton Tregloan, John Venus, Don Walker, Meg Walker, Denis Wall, David Wiffen, Jean-Christophe Xerri

Meeting commenced 6.00pm

1. Apologies

Ian Newbery (Secretary), John Pederson (Returning Officer), Peter Austin, Mary Beale, Bob Bleechmore, Eleanor Bleechmore, Natalie Boath, William Booker, Tess Coleman, Ken Crocker, Elaine Davey, Gerald Duigan, Rhenius Edwin, Sue Fitch, Jonathon Harry, Keith Hempton, Russell Iles, John Ingham, Shirley Ingham, Norman James, Ian Johnston, Bob Knight, Eleanor Lamdin, Iain McIntyre, Jim Mitchell, David Monten, Jocelyn Nicholson, Diane Riggs, Wayne Riggs, John Rolls, Jim Scammell, Kathy Seeley, Christoper Stone, John Taylor, John Temme, Dawn Thomas, Mel Tickle, Roger Vincent, David Wright, Edward Ziedan

2. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting - 29 November 2021

Moved Peter Bleby *seconded* Bill Lawson that the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 29 November 2021 be confirmed - *carried*

3. Report of the Board of Directors

Moved Peter Davis *seconded* Glen Quick that the Report of the Board of Directors for 2022 be received - *carried*

4. Financial Report for the Year Ending 30 June 2022

Moved Bill Lawson *seconded* Tom Doran that the Financial Report for the Year Ending 30 June 2022 be received - *carried*

5. Appointment of Auditors for the 2022-23 Financial Year

Moved Dave Anthony *seconded* Denis Wall that Gray Perry DFK, Chartered Accountants, be appointed auditors for the 2022-23 financial year - *carried*

6. Election of Directors to the Board

Report of the Returning Officer At the close of nominations, the following nominations were received: Secretary: Ian Newbery (term of two years) Treasurer: Andrew Hanna (term of one year) In accordance with the Rules of the Association, these office bearers are elected to the Board unopposed

No nominations were received for the positions of Deputy Chair or Ordinary Directors (two positions). In accordance with the Rules of the Association, nominations for these vacant positions were called for from the floor of the Annual General Meeting.

Moved Bill Lawson seconded Meg Ryan that Phillip Virgo be nominated for the position of Deputy

Chairperson (term of two years) - nomination accepted

Moved Roy Cooke *seconded* Kari Seeley that Stephen Davis be nominated for the position of Ordinary Director (term of two years) - *nomination accepted*

Moved Barry Horwood *seconded* Denis Wall that Mary Peterson be nominated for the position of Ordinary Director (term of two years) - *nomination accepted*

There being no further nominations, these office bearers are elected to the Board.

Moved Phillip Virgo *seconded* Frank Seeley that the Returning Officer's Report be received, and the nominations for vacancies received from the floor be approved by the members present at the Annual General Meeting - *carried*

7. Life Memberships

Moved Phillip Virgo *seconded* Frank Seeley that the members present at the Annual General Meeting give leave to consider recommendations from the Board regarding Life Membership - *carried*

Moved Phillip Virgo *seconded* Frank Seeley that, in recognition of exceptional service to the Association over a considerable period, the Annual General Meeting make Jean-Christophe Xerri and Peter Davis Honorary Life Members of the Association - *carried*

8. Closure

Glen Quick spoke about the need to eventually look for more secure studio accommodation as developers are moving into the Hindmarsh area.

The Chairperson requested Glen to put this in a letter to the Board for consideration as to possible action.

Meeting closed 6.25pm